Need gauge wires and sensors

What does this red wire do? Zzzzzt Oops

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
goob_os101
DCAWD Groupie
Posts: 534
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 7:00 pm
Location: Arlington, VA

Need gauge wires and sensors

Post by goob_os101 » Wed Sep 10, 2008 6:24 pm

Need gauge wires and sensors. I found a great deal on 3 omori gauges (boost, EGT, oil pressure), but there are now wire or sensors. Gauges are from a totaled car and the guy had no time to fidh out the wires so un lipe them from the clock pod where the gauges were installed.

Any idea where/how much it would be to get new wires & sensors?

thermobox
DCAWD Founding Member
Posts: 1189
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 8:00 pm

Re: Need gauge wires and sensors

Post by thermobox » Wed Sep 10, 2008 8:09 pm

no clue. i don't know if this would be a good deal even if they were free. most every gauge comes with specific wire, sensors, bracketry, etc. sounds like it's more work than it's worth.

User avatar
Sabre
DCAWD Founding Member
Posts: 21389
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:00 pm
Location: Springfield, VA
Contact:

Re: Need gauge wires and sensors

Post by Sabre » Fri Sep 12, 2008 5:25 pm

FYI, EGT's gauges arevery sensitive to wire length. They opperate on resistance, so different lengths of wire will affect them. They are calibrated at the factory with the wire that they come with. Make sure to use thermocouple wire when you do wire them up, as it has very little resistance. If you want it 100% correct though, you'll probably have to send it back to the factory and have them replace the wire and recalibrate it.
Sabre (Julian)
Image
92.5% Stock 04 STI
Good choice putting $4,000 rims on your 1990 Honda Civic. That's like Betty White going out and getting her tits done.

Post Reply